Your Subtitle text
Education & Research Foundation


 

The Vermont Society of Engineers Education 
& Research Foundation is a tax-free, non profit corporation established to administer and award scholarships to Vermont students pursuing engineering careers. The Foundation may also give grants to institutions of higher education for the support of engineering education and research.

Read letter from scholarship recipient Tim Macke.

 In 1958, the VSOE initiated a program to award annual scholarships to Vermont engineering students attending the University of Vermont and Norwich University. In 1974, a similar scholarship was established for Vermont Technical College. The Education and Research Foundation was established in 1982 with the approval of its membership.

Mission

The Vermont Society of Engineers Education and Research Foundations' mission is to foster the growth of the engineering profession in Vermont by awarding annual scholarships to Vermont engineering students attending the University of Vermont, Norwich University and Vermont Technical College.

Vision

The Vermont Society of Engineers Education and Research Foundations' vision is the continued growth of its scholarship endowment to ensure a substantial award can be donated to students in order to help offset the ever increasing costs of education.

Goals

To accomplish our mission, we will work towards the following goals:

    1.    Seek adequate and stable funding to support mission requirements;

    2.    Stimulate interest among Vermont students in Engineering as a career;

    3.    Foster communication between all Engineering disciplines in Vermont; and

    4.    Encourage social interaction that cultivates and stimulates the  growth 
           of engineering.

Scholarship 

For more information about scholarship opportunities from the Vermont Society of Engineers Education and Research Foundation, please contact Chris Benda at chris.benda@vermont.gov.

Download Scholarship Application





Education and Research Foundation
Board of Government
2017 - 2018

President
Chris Lathrop
clathrop@dubois-king.com

Past President
Ken Robie
ken.robie@vermont.gov      

First Vice President
Gary Santy
gary.santy@stantec.com

Second Vice President 
Erin Lewis
erin.lewis@vermont.gov       

Chairperson (2018)
Christopher Benda
ccbenda01@charter.net

Secretary (2018)
Branden Martin
bmartin@stone-env.com      

Treasurer (2018)
Carolyn Carlson
carolyn.carlson@vermont.gov
                       
Director (2019)
Brian Austin
bcaustin@fs.fed.us

Director (2018)
Callie Ewald
callie.ewald@vermont.gov               

Director (2018)
Jennifer Fitch
jennifer.fitch@vermont.gov

Director (2018)
Gary Sweeny
gary.sweeny@vermont.gov      

Director (2017)
Kenneth Valentine
ken.valentine@vermont.gov