Your Subtitle text
Education & Research Foundation


 

The Vermont Society of Engineers Education & Research Foundation is a tax-free, non profit corporation established to administer and award scholarships to Vermont students pursuing engineering careers. The Foundation may also give grants to institutions of higher education for the support of engineering education and research.

Read letter from scholarship recipient Tim Macke.

 In 1958, the VSOE initiated a program to award annual scholarships to Vermont engineering students attending the University of Vermont and Norwich University. In 1974, a similar scholarship was established for Vermont Technical College. The Education and Research Foundation was established in 1982 with the approval of its membership.

Mission

The Vermont Society of Engineers Education and Research Foundations' mission is to foster the growth of the engineering profession in Vermont by awarding annual scholarships to Vermont engineering students attending the University of Vermont, Norwich University and Vermont Technical College.

Vision

The Vermont Society of Engineers Education and Research Foundations' vision is the continued growth of its scholarship endowment to ensure a substantial award can be donated to students in order to help offset the ever increasing costs of education.

Goals

To accomplish our mission, we will work towards the following goals:

    1.    Seek adequate and stable funding to support mission requirements;

    2.    Stimulate interest among Vermont students in Engineering as a career;

    3.    Foster communication between all Engineering disciplines in Vermont; and

    4.    Encourage social interaction that cultivates and stimulates the  growth 
           of engineering.

Scholarship 

The Vermont Society of Engineers, seeking to encourage the development of Vermont’s next generation of talented and dedicated professionals, welcomes scholarship applications from deserving students enrolled in an Engineering curriculum at Norwich University, University of Vermont, and Vermont Technical College. Applicants must have graduated (or will have graduated) from a Vermont high school and must be in good academic standing.

Download Scholarship Application





Education and Research Foundation
Board of Government
2019 - 2020

President
Erin Parizo
erin.parizo@vermont.gov

Past President
Gary Santy
gary.santy@stantec.com      

First Vice President
Branden Martin
bmartin@stone-env.com

Second Vice President 
Jeremy Rathbun
jrathbun@dubois-king.com       

Chairperson (2019)
Christopher Benda
ccbenda01@charter.net

Secretary (2020)
Jennifer Fitch
jennifer.fitch@vermont.gov
  

Treasurer (2020)
Carolyn Cota
carolyn.cota@vermont.gov                                 
Director (2020)
Callie Ewald
callie.ewald@vermont.gov               

Director (2021)
Ken Robie
ken.robie@vermont.gov

Director (2019)
Gary Sweeny
gary.sweeny@vermont.gov      

Director (2020)
Kenneth Valentine
ken.valentine@vermont.gov